Welcome to
SalvationFirst Ministries
Proclaiming Holy Reverence to Our Heavenly Father ABBA ... FOREVER
Cell Phone Tips

Below are some cell phone tips that our readers would like to share with others. Include your First name and city / state,and let us give you credit for sharing the information. I have also included a link to a Cell Phone Glossary ~Pastor Mark

THIS MEMBER (Sean A.) IS FROM CENTRAL OHIO:
I was recently checking out a possible Urban Legend at snopes.com ( http://www.snopes.com/ ) when I found a legend they were reviewing about cell phone hidden uses. They clarified some of the points and debunked a couple but there are a couple useful tips. One in particular was the 112 as an emergency number. I had direct experience about the failings of 911 calls on my cell phone. I was in Knox county canvassing and my cohort and myself smelled a gas leak in a a very densely packed residential area. I called 911 but was connected with Licking County, not Knox county, emergency services. In addition my home phone number had been "ported" to my cell phone some years before when I went mobile only. The Licking County Sherrif Dept. didn't want to believe I was calling from Knox County. They didn't contact Knox County E.S. but instead called me back and insisted that since they had called my home phone number I MUST be at home. After a period of time spent explaining cellular phone technology to them. They finally agreed to call Knox County E.S. and a fire truck was dispatched.
Also with cell phone companies charging Up to $1.50 a call for 411 I found 800-FREE-411 very interesting. Check their web page at: http://www.free411.com/index.php
http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/household/cellphones.asp 
 
(UPDATE) About 30 minutes ago I had a chance to try the 800 FREE 411. A garage was burning down in our neighborhood and I knew the person who owned the house rather casually. The owner was not home. I didn't know his number but thought if I called his home phone it might be forwarded to a cell phone as some people have calls forwarded. I called Free 411 and after an ad for McDonald's I was connected to a computer that ask a couple of questions got the right name and location and then read another short ad and gave me the number. It took a little longer but I didn't have to pay T-Mobile $1.40 for the info.
 
I have also told by my pcs provider to include an emergency number of who I needed to have notified in the event of an emergency, by placing it in my phonebook as ICE... (In Case of Emergency)  Pastor Mark

 

 

Cell Phone Driving Laws

May 2009

Current state cell phone driving law highlights include the following:

  • Handheld Cell Phone Bans for All Drivers: 5 states (California, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York and Washington), the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands prohibit all drivers from talking on handheld cell phones while driving.
    • With the exception of Washington State, these laws are all primary enforcement—an officer may ticket a driver for using a handheld cell phone while driving without any other traffic offense taking place.
  • All Cell Phone Bans: No state completely bans all types of cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for all drivers, but many prohibit cell phone use by certain segments of the population.
    • Novice Drivers: 21 states and the District of Columbia ban all cell use by novice drivers.
    • School Bus Drivers: In 18 states and the District of Columbia, school bus drivers are prohibited from all cell phone use when passengers are present.
  • Text Messaging: 10 states (Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Jersey, Utah, Virginia and Washington) and the District of Columbia have a text messaging ban for all drivers.
    • Novice Drivers: 11 states prohibit text messaging by novice drivers.
    • School Bus Drivers: 2 states legally restrict school bus drivers from texting while driving.
  • Preemption Laws: 8 states have laws that prohibit local jurisdictions from enacting restrictions. In 6 other states, localities are allowed to ban cell phone use.
  • Some states, such as Utah and New Hampshire, treat cell phone use as a larger distracted driving issue.
    • Utah considers speaking on a cellphone to be an offense only if a driver is also committing some other moving violation (other than speeding).

State

Handheld Ban

All Cell Phone Ban

Text Messaging Ban

Enforcement

Crash
Data
Collected

Pre-
emption
Law

School Bus Drivers

Novice Drivers

All Drivers

School Bus Drivers

Novice Drivers

Alabama

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alaska

 

 

 

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

Yes

 

Arizona

 

Yes

 

 

 

 

Primary

 

 

Arkansas

 

Yes

<18
(18 - 20–
handheld only)

Yes
(eff. 10/09)

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

 

 

California

Yes

Yes

<18

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

Yes

 

Colorado

 

 

Learners Permit

 

 

 

Secondary

Yes

 

Connecticut

Yes

Yes

Learners Permit and <18

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

Yes

 

Delaware

 

Yes

GDL

 

 

GDL

Primary

Yes

 

D.C.

Yes

Yes

Learners Permit

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

 

 

Florida

 

 

 

 Yes

   Yes

 

 

Yes

Yes

Georgia

 

Yes

 

Yes 

   Yes

 

Primary

Yes

 

Hawaii

 

 

 

 Yes

   Yes

 

 

 

 

Idaho

 

 

 

 Yes

 

 

 

 

 

Illinois

By jurisdiction

Yes

<19

Yes 

 

 

Primary

Yes

 

Indiana

 

 

<18

 

 

<18

 

Yes

 

Iowa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

 

Kansas

 

 

Learner or Intermediate License
(eff. 1/10)

 

 

Learner or Intermediate License
(eff. 1/10)

 

 

 

Kentucky

 

Yes

 

 

 

 

Primary

 

Yes

Louisiana 1

See footnote

Yes

See footnote

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Secondary (primary for school bus)

 

Yes

Maine

 

 

<18

 

 

 

<18

Primary

 

 

Maryland

 

 

<18 w/ Learner or Provisional License

 

 

<18 w/ Learner or Provisional License

Secondary

Yes

 

Massachusetts

By jurisdiction

Yes

 

 

 

 

Primary

Yes

 

Michigan 2

By jurisdiction

 

See footnote

 

 

 

 

Yes

 

Minnesota

 

Yes

Learner or Provisional License for 1st 12 mos.

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

Yes

 

Mississippi

 

 

 

 

 

Learner or Provisional License
(eff. 7/09)

 

 

Yes

Missouri

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Montana

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

 

Nebraska

 

 

<18 w/ Learners or Provisional License

 

 

<18 w/ Learners or Provisional License

Secondary

Yes

 

Nevada

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

Yes

New Hampshire 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Jersey

Yes

Yes

<21 w/ GDL or Provisional License

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Primary

Yes

 

New Mexico

By jurisdiction and in State vehicles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New York

Yes

Yes

 

 

 

 

Primary

Yes

 

North Carolina

 

Yes

<18

 

Yes

<18

Primary

Yes

 

North Dakota

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ohio

By jurisdiction

 

 

 Yes

 

 

 

 

 

Oklahoma

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

Yes

Oregon

 

 

<18 w/ Learner or Provisional License

 

 

<18 w/ Learner or Provisional License

Secondary

Yes

Yes

Pennsylvania

By jurisdiction

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

 

Rhode Island

 

Yes

<18

 

 

 

Primary

 

 

South Carolina

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South Dakota

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes

 

Tennessee

 

Yes

Learners Permit or Intermediate License

 

 

 

Primary

Yes

 

Texas

 

Yes, w/ passenger <17

Intermediate Stage, 1st 6 mos.

 

Yes, w/ passenger <17

Intermediate Stage, 1st 6 mos.

Primary

Yes

 

 

Utah 4

See footnote

 

 

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Secondary

Yes

Yes

Vermont

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virgin Islands

Yes

 

 

 

 

 

No data

Yes

 

Virginia

 

Yes

<18

Yes
(eff. 7/09)

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Secondary (primary for school bus)

Yes

 

Washington

Yes

 

 

Yes

Covered under all driver ban

Covered under all driver ban

Secondary

Yes

 

West Virginia

 

 

Learner or Intermediate Stage

 

 

Learner or Intermediate Stage

Secondary

 

 

Wisconsin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wyoming

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total

5 + D.C., Virgin Islands

By jurisdiction: 6

18 + D.C.

21 + D.C.

10 + D.C.

2

11

 

29 + Virgin Islands

8

1 During the 2008 legislative session, Louisiana passed 3 different cellphone laws addressing teen drivers. The governor signed all three. It is unclear whether both handheld and hands-free phone use is prohibited, or whether only handheld phone use is banned. All 3 laws prohibit text messaging.
2 In Michigan, teens with probationary licenses whose cell phone usage contributes to a traffic crash or ticket may not use a cell phone while driving.
3 Dealt with as a distracted driving issue; New Hampshire enacted a comprehensive distracted driving law.
4 Utah's law defines careless driving as committing a moving violation (other than speeding) while distracted by use of a handheld cellphone or other activities not related to driving.

Sources: American Automobile Association (AAA), Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Offices. Most recently updated April 2009.

The Christian Counter
The Christian Counter